State designates Carondelet St. Joseph’s Hospital as a Level 1 Trauma Center for the next three years

Aug 26, 2022

Photos & video available here

TUCSON (August 26, 2022) – Carondelet St. Joseph’s Hospital has received a renewal of its Level I Trauma Center designation. Granted by the Arizona Department of Health Services, this three-year designation signifies the hospital is highly capable of offering care for complex, critical life-threatening injuries.

“Carondelet has a longstanding commitment to offering advanced levels of care for Tucson and Southern Arizona. The Level I Trauma Center reverification is an affirmation of that commitment and the trauma team has done an extraordinary job in operating our trauma program as well as they have since we’ve opened it back in 2019,” said Monica Vargas-Mahar, Carondelet Health Network’s market chief executive officer.

Providing Level 1 Trauma services means Carondelet St. Joseph’s Hospital has numerous specialties available around the clock including orthopedic trauma surgery, neurosurgery, vascular and cardiovascular surgery, general surgery, facial surgery, hand surgery, ophthalmology and plastic surgery, among others, through a comprehensive team of medical specialists and support staff.

“Being a Level I Trauma Center demonstrates the successful integration of individual roles throughout the hospital in the operating rooms, diagnostic imaging, ICU and other areas for the advanced level of service we’ll provide. I am proud we have upheld our operation to continue the hospital’s recognition as a Level 1 Trauma Center,” said Dr. Francis Ali-Osman, medical director of trauma and emergency services.

The hospital and the Tucson Metro Chamber of Commerce held a staff recognition event, where the Chamber proclaimed August 26th as “Trauma Awareness Day” for St. Joseph’s Hospital. A new sign was also unveiled, adding the phrase “Level 1 Trauma” to the original Emergency Center sign.

Carondelet St. Joseph’s Hospital added trauma services November 1, 2019, which allowed the hospital to offer care for life-threatening injuries through around-the-clock availability of a comprehensive team of medical specialists and support staff.  It first received its Level 1 Trauma status by the state in 2020.

About Carondelet Health Network

Carondelet Health Network is comprised of Carondelet St. Mary’s Hospital, Carondelet St. Joseph’s Hospital, Carondelet Holy Cross Hospital, Carondelet Marana Hospital, Carondelet St. Raphael’s Emergency Center, Carondelet Neurological Institute, Carondelet Heart and Vascular Institute, as well as primary care and specialty physician offices. For more information visit

Sign Up for Health Tips

Get our advice and upcoming events about weight, pain, heart and more.

Find a Doctor

Need a doctor for your care?